Catch us live on BlogTalkRadio every

Tuesday & Thursday at 6pm P.S.T.

Friday, January 1, 2016

20 California laws that go into effect in 2016

By Katie Dowd
You've heard all about the new California minimum wage law, but did you know that the state now has a bunch of new rules about hoverboards?
It should come as no surprise that the year's most controversial piece of technology gets hefty regulations in the 2016. Hoverboards use is now legal everywhere bicycles may ride (so not sidewalks, dude zooming down Market St.), cannot go faster than 35 miles per hour and require a helmet while being operated. You also must be 16 years old to use a hoverboard, so preteens are out of luck.

In total, California gets 807 new laws in 2016, covering a range of hot-button issues from gun control to vaccination to sex education in schools.
You can read about 20 of those laws in the gallery above.