Catch us live on BlogTalkRadio every

Tuesday & Thursday at 6pm P.S.T.

Saturday, January 31, 2015

Motorcycle News For 2015 – New Motorcycle Laws

A number of states have some new motorcycle laws for 2015, see what's changed in your state.

Welcome to 2015. Quite often a new year means new laws, and this is no exception. Here are a few new laws motorcycle riders need to be aware of. The most notable of the regulations taking effect on Jan. 1 are from Texas, which enacted vehicle requirements for motorcyclists who want to carry passengers, and Indiana, which adopted rules for low-powered mopeds and scooters.
In Texas Malorie’s Law, which went into effect Jan. 1, requires motorcycles that are designed for carrying more than one person to be equipped with passenger footrests and handholds. Texas already prohibits passengers on motorcycles that are not designed to carry more than one person.
In Indiana, motorized cycles and mopeds must now be registered either as over 50cc, or 50cc and under. Operators of both types of vehicles must show proof of ownership and wear helmets if they are under 18 years of age. Operators of over-50cc vehicles are required to carry liability insurance and must have a valid driver’s license with motorcycle endorsement. Riders of 50cc-and-under vehicles must be 15 years of age or older and have a valid Indiana state ID card with a motor driven cycle Class B endorsement, learner’s permit or driver’s license.
Some additional laws that took effect Jan. 1:
ALASKA – Established new regulations for service contracts, including new provider requirements, and exempted them from regulation as insurance.
ILLINOIS – Amended the definition of motorcycle to include autocycle, defined as a three-wheeled motor vehicle that has a steering wheel and seating that does not require the operator to straddle it. Operation of an autocycle requires a Class D driver’s license.
MICHIGAN – The state closed a loophole that enabled motorcyclists to buy a temporary riding permit multiple times (for example, each riding season) without taking the safety or skills tests required for full endorsement. Applicants are now limited to two permits within a 10-year period.
NEW HAMPSHIRE – Allows non-residents to apply for temporary non-resident OHV registrations for 10 consecutive day periods during May through October.
PENNSYLVANIA – State’s Department of Transportation now can authorize third parties to administer the skills test portion of motor vehicle licensing exams.
UTAH – Increased the tax credit for the original purchase of a new qualifying electric vehicle registered in the state to be either $1,500 or 35 percent of purchase price.